Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Yes. Your business tax receipt(s) must be displayed conspicuously at the place of business so that it is visible to the public. It must be available for inspection. When not operating from a fixed place of business the person shall keep the business tax receipt upon his/her person at all times while engaging in the business, occupation, or profession for which it is issued.
Show All Answers
The method by which the City Council grants the privilege of engaging in or managing any business, profession or occupation within its jurisdiction.
Any profession regulated by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, or any board or commission thereof, must exhibit an active state certificate, registration, or license, or proof of copy of the same.
Any person who maintains a permanent business location or branch office within the City, for the privilege of engaging in or managing any business, profession or occupation within the City. After receiving your local business tax receipt from the City you must obtain one from Orange County.
The fee for October through September is $150.50. Prorated quarterly:
The professional local business tax receipt fee is $15.05. This is the fee per person in a Maitland business who needs a license or certification to perform their job duties (see City Code section 9-14.1.)
The transfer fee is $10.
The duplicate tax receipt fee is $10.
The State of Florida has established the tax year as October 1 through September 30. Invoices for the next tax year are mailed the last week of June and are due September 30 or the next business day thereafter, should September 30 fall on a weekend. Penalties are then added as follows, and additional invoices mailed reflecting the current total due at that point:
Failure to receive an invoice is not a valid reason for nonpayment of your local business tax.
Please visit the Orange County Property Appraiser’s website to search for your location address. Some locations with a Maitland mailing address are actually in Seminole County and not part of the City of Maitland. If your location is not in the City of Maitland, you will need to contact the appropriate taxing authority for your location to obtain a local business tax receipt.
Yes, any business that is in the city must have a receipt.
Yes, every business entity listed with the State of Florida that is located in the City of Maitland needs to obtain a local business tax receipt. This includes corporate entities that have been set up as holding/investment/"pass-through" entities.
For local business tax receipt forms and information, email Robin Cadwallender or call her at 407-539-6253. Completed forms and payment may be submitted via mail or in person at City Hall located at 1776 Independence Lane. City Hall is open from 8 am to 5 pm. Monday through Friday. Proof of occupancy (if you do not own the property at which your business is located) such as a lease or rental agreement must be submitted at the time of application.
The applications go through an approval process and may take up to two weeks to process. Please check with the Planning and Zoning Department by calling 407-539-6215 to verify that your business is an approved use for your zoning location prior to completing the application.
Yes. You will need to obtain a receipt from Maitland and from Orange County. Please notify your previous city and county that you have moved.
Yes, you will need to obtain an Orange County local business tax receipt after you have your Maitland tax receipt. You may call 407-836-5650 or visit the Orange County Tax Collector’s website for more information.
Yes. You will be responsible for payment of up to three previous years’ business tax, plus the current year. After obtaining your Maitland business tax receipt, Orange County may also require payment of previous years’ taxes.
If your business will use any name other than the owner’s legal name or a properly registered corporate name, a fictitious name (also referred to as a D/B/A) must be registered with the state. Each D/B/A will need a receipt. Additional information is available from the Florida Department of State Fictitious Name Registration:P.O. Box 1300Tallahassee, FL 32302
You may visit the Division of Corporations website or call them at 850-245-6058.
Persons 65 years of age or older, with not more than one employee or helper, and who use only their own capital, not in excess of $1,000, may engage in any business or occupation in counties in which they live without being required to pay a business tax. Proof of the right to the exemption shall be made. Any person entitled to the exemption shall upon application and furnishing of the proof will be issued a receipt.
A charitable non-profit with a copy of their 501C3 letter from the Internal Revenue Service is exempt from the tax, but not from registering with the City. Please note that not every not-for-profit corporation meets the criteria to be exempt from tax. Further information can be found in the City’s Code of Ordinances Section 9 - 1.